Hippie hangout

i recently passed through Ashville and the vibes of the city made me feel as if I were in the Village in the 60s. I told Lily that if I had found Ashville when I was younger. I would have moved there. This was my impression just passing through! I came across this story today:

1. Asheville, North Carolina

Asheville is the country's reigning champ of hippie culture. Flooded with farmers' markets, art and crafts, and live music, this southern gem has a long history of street performance and outdoor festivals. It also led the charge in farm-to-table local food production and microbreweries.  In fact, there are more breweries per capita than any other city in the nation.

1 response
sho nuff is, music scene is good in NC schools/colleges abound wineries fall foliage running streams the mountains an Indian reservation which could be managed better, there are many poverty pockets, in the rural areas however many creative talents end up retiring or living the sustainable lifestyle ....short of a hippie commune style system! myself included.many great folk artists hail from the entire state from the piedmont blues to the black mountain moan of doc Watson it is truly a great state